Spanning 116.8 square milese, Little Rock is the capital of Arkansas and located in Pulaski County. The city derives its name from a small rock formation on the south bank of the Arkansas River called la Petite Roche—French for “the little rock.”

Inside Little Rock’s city limits, there are numerous neighborhoods, including Apple Gate, Birchwood, Breckenridge, Broadmoor, Brodie Creek, Candlewood, Capitol Hill, Capitol View, Capitol View/Stifft’s Station, Chenal Ridge, Cloverdale, Colony West, Downtown, East End, Echo Valley, Downtown, East End, Echo Valley, Fair Park, Geyer Springs, Gibraltar Heights, Granite Mountain, Gum Springs, Hall High, The Heights, Highland Park, Hillcrest, John Barrow, Leawood, Mabelvale, Mushroom Pass, Oak Forest, Otter Creek, Parkway Place, Pleasant Valley, Quapaw Quarter, River Mountain, River Ridge, Riverdale, Robinwood, Rock Creek, Rosedale, St. Charles, Santa Fe Heights, South End, South Little Rock, Southwest Little Rock, Stagecoach, Sturbridge, the Villages of Wellington, Wakefield, West End and Woodland Edge.

Little Rock lies in the humid subtropical climate zone, with hot, humid summers and mild winters, with usually little snow.

Courthouses in Little Rock, Arkansas:

Little Rock District Court
600 W Markham Street
Little Rock, AR

Arkansas Supreme Court
625 Marshall Street
Little Rock, AR

Little Rock offers many cultural amenities to residents and tourists, including Arkansas Arboretum, Arkansas Arts Center, Community Theatre of Little Rock, Arkansas Repertory Theatre, Robinson Center Music Hall, Wildwood Park for the Arts.

A few notable people who were either born in Little Rock or resided there include Bill Clinton, Hillary Rodham Clinton, John Gould Fletcher, Douglas MacArthur, and Winthrop Rockefeller.